Little Secrets of the Wii Remote

wii.remote.plus.all.lg

Had the thought to do this post last week while I was at my in-laws.  My wife was out with her mother, sister, and sister-in-law and my brother-in-law and I had six kids to look after.  Being the dad that I am, I brought along some of our Wii Remotes and the steering wheels attachments in anticipation of a Mario Kart showdown.

My idea of bringing the Wiimotes were dismissed, at first, because my in-laws already had four, and the two we had were unnecessary.  My daughter headed off to play with her cousin, and I tended to my younger daughter.  About twenty minutes later, I found both my daughter and her cousin were back upstairs playing with my youngest daughter.  When I asked why they weren’t playing Wii, I was little surprised by the reply.

“All the batteries are dead,” my niece told me.

Determined to let them rot their brains in front of the television, I went to check the batteries, and this is where the How-To Daily Prompt for today comes in.

HOW TO USE A WII REMOTE AS A BATTERY TESTER:

  1. Press a button on the remote.  Push the big A button, pull the B trigger, the 1 or 2 button, anywhere on the D-Pad, it does not matter.  CAUTION: Don’t press the power button.  This works best if the Wii Console is on standby/off.
  2. Look at the four lights at the bottom of the Remote, note how many light up when you press the button.  If you have fresh batteries and have been held captive by Gul Madred, feel free to shout loudly, “THERE ARE FOUR LIGHTS!”  Three quarters of a charge will render three lights; half charge will render two; quarter charge or less will render one.
  3. Replace or recharge batteries as needed.

The drawback to this method of charge testing is that you need to check two batteries at a time and it will not determine the charge for each one.  Furthermore, it only works with AA batteries.

Alas, we were only able to find one set of fresh batteries in their whole house.  Still determined, I got out the controllers I brought from home and synced them up with their console.  “But wait,” I hear you all asking, “Isn’t that a royal pain?  You’ll have to sync your controllers again once you get back home!”  Little known fact, there are two ways to sync Wii Remotes to a Wii Console.  One is to register it as a local controller.  The other way is to register it as a ‘guest.’

HOW TO SYNC  A WII REMOTE AS A LOCAL CONTROLLER:

  1. Press console power button to turn on unit.
  2. Remove battery cover on remote to expose red sync button.  Do not remove batteries.
  3. Flip open cover on console beside disk slot to expose red sync button.  Press and hold button.
  4. While console sync button is pressed, press and hold sync button on remote for two seconds or so.
  5. Release both buttons.  Remote is now synced to console.
  6. Replace battery cover on remote.
  7. Press A button to activate remote and connect to console.

GAH!  That’s almost as frustrating to write as to do.  Hence, I like the ‘guest’ sync.
Keep in mind that you do require a local controller in order to perform the following.

HOW TO SYNC A GUEST WII REMOTE CONTROLLER:

  1. Turn on console and connect first controller.
  2. Once at main menu, press Home button.
  3. Once in the Home menu, select the controller in the bottom left corner.
  4. Select “Reconnect” (bottom option)
  5. Press 1 and 2 buttons on Remote 1.  Repeat with up to three other remotes.
  6. Press Home Button to close menu.
  7. Carry on.

While I did state in Step 2 to do this at the main menu, it can be done during a game or otherwise.  This is handy if someone got player two when they wanted player one, or something of the same argument.  Only downside to ‘guest’ controllers is they have to be synced in every time they’re used on a guest console.

Not everyone will find this handy, because not everyone carries around Wiimotes with them just in case there is a challenger who wants to settle matters on Rainbow Road.  But for those that do, I hope this has been educational for you.

2 thoughts on “Little Secrets of the Wii Remote

Nickel for your thoughts? (Pennies have been discontinued)

