Alliterate Affections

Love Keys

When I read the daily prompt for today, I was a little puzzled on what to write about.  I couldn’t think of anything that had to do with the number 26.  Of all my cousins, aunts, uncles, sisters, parents, and in-laws, I couldn’t think of anyone who had any important life event that occurred on the 26th of any month.   My wife thought there were 26 chromosomes in the human genome, but we checked and there were 22 plus the X and Y.  Still short of 26.

Finally, we clued in that there was twenty-six letters in the English alphabet, and the wheels started turning.  First of all, there are also twenty-six letters in the Morse Code Alphabet, something that I am learning to compliment my Amateur Radio Licence that I just got yesterday.  But my wife, as always, had a better idea.

While dating, my wife and I were separated by a distance of approximately 150km (~93 miles) and we kept in touch via email and the occasional phone call.  I must note that this was in 2003 and neither one of us had any social media accounts nor a functional cell phone.  Email was the communication tool of choice, and I even got a Yahoo! email account to keep up with the volume of messages exchanged because I hit the storage limit on my Hotmail account.  If I remember correctly, I think the cap was something less than 500MB.

Seems so small in retrospect…

At one point in our digital letter exchanges, we started alliterative lists of adjectives.  Part mushy lovey stuff, part quirky, and part contest to see who could list the most.  We would trade off letters, I had ‘A’, she would do ‘B’, I would then do ‘C’ and so forth.  Not sure who won, but we did consult dictionaries to supplement our own lists after we got to ‘H’ and she sent me an extensive list for ‘R’ of which about a third of the words I couldn’t find definitions for and I held to the belief that she simply made them up.

We printed out our emails and kept them in binders.  My binder has been misplaced sometime in the past ten years, likely during a move, but my wife still has her binder.  Perhaps we’ll take a look at them again this week.

2 thoughts on “Alliterate Affections

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Your Days Are Numbered | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Your Days are Numbered: The sacred & unutterable name of God | Khana's Web

Nickel for your thoughts? (Pennies have been discontinued)

