It’s Okay To Go A Little Crazy

Anyone who knows me well is familiar with my love of the show My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.  It has brilliant writing, great character development, and I also grew up with three of the animators.  True story.  But to properly answer the call of today’s Daily Prompt, I felt it would be best handled by the pastel ponies that my family and I have come to know and love over the past three years.

My wife would in no doubt be surprised that I didn’t pick something that I learned from her, or something from church.  Truth be told, there are many lessons that I have learned from my marriage, family life, and also from church.  But the episode clip that I have at the beginning of this post has links to all those lessons.

Back in 2005, I had what’s known in the medical community as a psychotic episode.  This resulted in a three week stay in the hospital where I was closely monitored and medicated until the deemed I was fit for release back into society.  Ever since then this T-shirt doesn’t seem so funny anymore.

i-did-not-escape-868x1029
My recovery took a lot of work, and still remains one of my biggest obstacles, but when I saw the MLP episode, Lesson Zero, it reminded me that I’m okay.  I have strong support from my wife and my family, much like how Twilight Sparkle has support from her close group of friends.

Everyone has their tough times, their hiccups, their bouts of crazy, but that’s okay.  It’s not a matter of how many times you fall down, it’s how many times you get back up again.  And I know for a fact that you need help from others from time to time to keep getting back up.

And to counterbalance the sugary goodness of ponies, here’s a clip of Bruce Wayne’s father reiterating the same lesson.

5 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Go A Little Crazy

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: BFFs | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Just A Little… | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: BFFs | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: In Dedication to A Ray of Sunshine | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  5. Pingback: Ask A Pony | The Dragon Weyr

Nickel for your thoughts? (Pennies have been discontinued)

