The Easiest Thing I Quit

When you think about things you stop doing or quit, certain habits come to mind.  Smoking, drinking, or any other kind of addictive behaviour.  Most of these require a steady amount of discipline, or healthy habits to be but in their place.

But the one habit that was the easiest for me to break was blogging.  I tried to really get into it back in 2011, and for about two months I was doing remarkably well.  I was networking with others.  I was posting daily.  I really had things moving along, and I thought that things were really going my way.

Then I broke my back.

L1 Compression Burst Fracture with Spinal Cord Injury
L1 burst fracture to be precise.  

I was in the hospital for the next few days trying to figure out which way was up and trying to learn how to walk with a turtle shell strapped to me.  It was awkward.  It was painful.  And at the time, blogging was the furthest thing from my mind.

I tried to pick up the blog again, but I didn’t have the same drive.  This could also have had something to do with the fact that I didn’t have a laptop at the time, and so in order to blog, I had to sit at a desktop.  Moving around wasn’t my favourite thing to do at the time.  Also, I was using Blogger, and I had prided myself in adding media to my posts, and the easiest ways I found to do it was using HTML coding.  Which was a substantial pain in the butt compared to the WordPress UI.  Get up and sit down to frustrate myself with HTML code was not something I wanted to wrap my head around, so I found it easier to quit.

Right now, I’m suffering from a bit of a bug, and I was very tempted not to post anything.  But I don’t want to quit.

Not this time.

Nickel for your thoughts? (Pennies have been discontinued)

