The Third Habit

I will be the first to admit, doing work is work.  And sometimes that is hard work.  Which I don’t like to do.  But taking a page from Stephen R. Covey, you have to put first things first in order to get things done.  Or from the more amiable children’s book, The 7 Habits of Happy Kids, “Work first, then play.”  You need to do what you need to do, so you can do what you want to do.

Any chore can get in the way of things you want to do, and one in particular took the place of my blog posting time the other day.  I was sitting down, ready to get going with a post for the day, when it occurred to me that I had to look over the budget.  I enjoy working with numbers, but there is something that freaks me out a little about doing finances.  Part of it is discouragement of overspending, or reallocating funds to account for something else that takes a higher priority.

I know it’s important, but it detracts from the fun time.

Hence my second least favourite chore that gets neglected all too often, washing dishes.  Or as some call it, kitchen laundry.

Kitchen Laundry

One thought on “The Third Habit

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Home | The Wandering Poet

Nickel for your thoughts? (Pennies have been discontinued)

